"Daufuskie is a Creek Indian word, which when translated, means sharp feather"
from "An Island Name Daufuskie" by Billie Burn
Welcome to Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation
The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation was founded in 2001 to preserve the historical and cultural heritage of Daufuskie Island, South Carolina. To further public knowledge and appreciation of Daufuskie Island, the Foundation has acquired and restored historic buildings, established an island history museum, created a self-guided trail of historic island sites, and begun an island history archive.
The Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation is a 501(C)3 charitable organization.
Daufuskie Island Historical Foundation ® PO Box 52, Daufuskie Island, SC 29915
12:30 - 4:00pm
12:30 - 3:30pm
The Billie Burn Museum's collection reflects the history of this unique Lowcountry island, from its pre-Colonial days through the mid 20th Century. Highlights include a copy of the original land grant from England's King George II to Dave and Francis Mongin in 1735, an early 19th Century family bible, a restored 1890s organ, an eleven and a half foot stuffed alligator, coins, military buttons, Indian arrowheads and photographs dating back to plantation days.